Press Releases

September 17, 2015

Poetry Day: Juan Felipe Herrera

The Poetry Foundation. the Library of Congress, and the Chicago Public Library are pleased to feature U.S. Poet Laureate Juan Felipe Herrera at the 61st annual Poetry Day, one of the oldest and most distinguished reading series in the country.

September 9, 2015

2015 Prizes for Contributors to Poetry Announced

Poetry magazine awards eight annual prizes for the best work published in Poetry during the past 12 months. Rae Armantrout, Terrance Hayes, Tarfia Faizullah, Jillian Weise, Ming Di, Jennifer Stern, Amy Newman, Jenny Zhang, and Maya Catherine Popa will receive the 2015 prizes for their poems, translations and prose in Poetry.

September 1, 2015

2015 Ruth Lilly and Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Poetry Fellowship Winners Announced

The Poetry Foundation and Poetry magazine are pleased to announce the five recipients of the 2015 Ruth Lilly and Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Poetry Fellowships: Nate Marshall, Erika L. Sánchez, Danniel Schoonebeek, Safiya Sinclair, and Jamila Woods. Among the largest awards offered to aspiring poets in the United States, the $25,800 scholarship prize is intended to encourage the further study and writing of poetry and is open to all U.S. poets between 21 and 31 years of age.

August 18, 2015

Poetry Foundation Announces Fall Events Season

The Poetry Foundation’s fall event season embraces poetry in an array of offerings that range from a salon concert, featuring music by Aaron Copland and Charles Ives, to readings by Joyce Carol Oates and Pulitzer Prize-winner Paul Muldoon.

July 2, 2015

Poetry Foundation Appoints Henry S. Bienen Interim President

The Poetry Foundation is pleased to announce the appointment of Henry S. Bienen, president emeritus of Northwestern University, to the position of Poetry Foundation interim president.

June 16, 2015

Poetry Foundation Appoints Richard P. Kiphart New Board Chair

The Poetry Foundation is pleased to announce that on June 9, Richard P. Kiphart was appointed to the position of board chair, succeeding John J. Kenney. Kenney became a trustee in 2009 and served as chair since 2011, completing 2 two-year terms, the maximum number of terms the Foundation board of trustees allows.

June 3, 2015

Jacqueline Woodson Named Young People’s Poet Laureate

The Poetry Foundation is honored to announce that Jacqueline Woodson has been named the Young People’s Poet Laureate. Awarded every two years, the $25,000 laureate title is given to a living writer in recognition of a career devoted to writing exceptional poetry for young readers.

May 26, 2015

Poetry Foundation Announces Winner of the 2015 Pegasus Award for Poetry Criticism

CHICAGO — The Poetry Foundation is honored to announce that Mark Ford’s 2014 publication This Dialogue of One: Essays on Poets from John Donne to Joan Murray, from Eyewear Publishing, is awarded the annual $7,500 Pegasus Award for Poetry Criticism, which honors the best book-length works of criticism, including biographies, essay collections, and critical editions that consider the subject of poetry or poets.

May 7, 2015

Poetry Foundation's First Summer Poetry Teachers Institute

In partnership with the Favorite Poem Project and in cooperation with the University of Illinois-Chicago College of Education, the Poetry Foundation is accepting applications for its first Summer Poetry Teachers Institute in Chicago, June 29–July 3, 2015. The five-day institute will include seminars and readings with some of today’s most compelling poets.

Originally appeared in Poetry magazine.

This poem has learning resources.

This poem is good for children.

This poem has related video.

This poem has related audio.