Ruth Lilly and Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Poetry Fellowships

Five Ruth Lilly and Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Poetry Fellowships in the amount of $25,800 each (previously $15,000), will be awarded to young poets through a national competition sponsored by the Poetry Foundation, publisher of Poetry magazine. Established in 1989 by the Indianapolis philanthropist Ruth Lilly, the fellowships are intended to encourage the further study and writing of poetry.

The Poetry Foundation and Poetry magazine announce the 31 finalists for the 2014 Ruth Lilly and Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Poetry Fellowships. Thank you to all who submitted applications.
The five fellowship recipients will be announced by September 1.

2014 Ruth Lilly and Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Poetry Fellowship Finalists

Melissa Barrett
Joshua Bennett
Peter Burghardt
Laura Bylenok
Sarah Carson
Dorothy Chan
Franny Choi
Abigail Deutsch
Alex Dimitrov
Adam Fitzgerald
Jameson Fitzpatrick
Logan Fry
Hannah Gamble
Hafizah Geter
Katie Hartsock
Susan Hogan
Cate Lycurgus
Nate Marshall
Diana Khoi Nguyen
Allyson Paty
Emilia Phillips
Camille Rankine
Erika L. Sánchez
Danniel Schoonebeek
Solmaz Sharif
Raena Shirali
Danez Smith
Zack Strait
Casey Thayer
Ocean Vuong
Wendy Xu

* * *

About the Ruth Lilly and Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Poetry Fellowship Program
Established in 1989 by Ruth Lilly to encourage the further writing and study of poetry, the Ruth Lilly Poetry Fellowship program has dramatically expanded since its inception. Until 1995, university writing programs nationwide each nominated one student poet for a single fellowship; from 1996 until 2007, two fellowships were awarded. In 2008 the competition was opened to all U.S. poets between 21 and 31 years of age, and the number of fellowships increased to five, totaling $75,000. In 2014, the Poetry Foundation received a generous gift from the Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Memorial Fund to create the Ruth Lilly and Dorothy Sargent Rosenberg Fellowships, which increased the fellowship amount from $15,000 to $25,800.

About Poetry Magazine
Founded in Chicago by Harriet Monroe in 1912, Poetry is the oldest monthly devoted to verse in the English-speaking world. Monroe’s “Open Door” policy, set forth in Volume 1 of the magazine, remains the most succinct statement of Poetry’s mission: to print the best poetry written today, in whatever style, genre, or approach. The magazine established its reputation early by publishing the first important poems of T.S. Eliot, Ezra Pound, Marianne Moore, Wallace Stevens, H.D., William Carlos Williams, Carl Sandburg, and other now-classic authors. In succeeding decades it has presented—often for the first time—works by virtually every major contemporary poet. In 2011, the magazine was honored with two National Magazine Awards. It celebrated its centennial in 2012.

About the Poetry Foundation
The Poetry Foundation, publisher of Poetry magazine, is an independent literary organization committed to a vigorous presence for poetry in our culture. It exists to discover and celebrate the best poetry and to place it before the largest possible audience. The Poetry Foundation seeks to be a leader in shaping a receptive climate for poetry by developing new audiences, creating new avenues for delivery, and encouraging new kinds of poetry through innovative partnerships, prizes, and programs. Opened to the public in June 2011, the Poetry Foundation building in Chicago provides new space for the Foundation’s extensive roster of public programs and events. It also houses a public garden, a library, and an exhibition gallery as well as the offices of the Poetry Foundation and Poetry magazine.

Learn more about the foundation »

* * *

Past Prize Recipients

Sean Brian Bishop
Megan Grumbling

Colin Cheney
David Krump

Nathan Bartel
Emily Moore

Emily Rosko
Marc Bittner

Christine Stewart
Robin Cooper-Stone

Erin G. Brooks
Zarina Mullan Plath

Matt D. Collinsworth

Originally appeared in Poetry magazine.

This poem has learning resources.

This poem is good for children.

This poem has related video.

This poem has related audio.