Skip to Content

We can trace the roots of our organization back a century into the history of Chicago, to the origins of Poetry magazine and to its founder Harriet Monroe. It is her vision that informs the work we do every day. But there is also a second woman—really a second founder—whose philanthropy has made everything the Foundation does possible. Ruth Lilly, in bestowing on poetry a significant portion of her personal wealth, ensured that Harriet Monroe's desire to celebrate and discover the best poetry will continue long into the magazine's second century. The Foundation, whose mission commits it to a more vigorous presence for poetry in our culture, has pursued this through a family of programs, all realized with Ms. Lilly's generous gift. Harriet Monroe and Ruth Lilly were two women of the Midwest for whom poetry was a passion central to life itself. We celebrate their lasting gifts every day and share them with you through our work.

Office of the President

Henry Bienen, President
Caren F. Skoulas, CFO
Ydalmi Noriega, Community and Foundation Relations Director
Patrick Samuel, President’s Assistant & Secretary to the Board
Alexis Pope, Events and Logistics Coordinator
Beyza Ozer, Events and Logistics Assistant
Levi Todd, Events Intern
Maya Nguen, Events Intern
Anne Dockery, Finance & Administration Associate
Krystal Languell, Finance Assistant
Fariha Waheed, Finance and Accounting Intern
Alexander Wrencher, Receptionist & Fiscal Assistant
Angelica Flores, Poetry Ambassador
Meg Forajter, Poetry Ambassador
Katie Heath, Poetry Ambassador
Michael Keating, Poetry Ambassador
Tracy Montes, Poetry Ambassador
Simone Nurse, Poetry Ambassador
Xandria Phillips, Poetry Ambassador
Me’Chelle Robinson, Poetry Ambassador
DeShara Suggs-Joe, Poetry Ambassador
Tracy Woodley, Poetry Ambassador

Digital Programs

Cassie Mayer, Director of Digital Programs
James Sitar, Senior Editor
Jeremy Lybarger, Features Editor
Michael Slosek, Web Editor
Rebecca Stoner, Permissions Coordinator
Nuria Sheehan, Project Manager
Lyndsie Manusos, Web Producer


Katherine Litwin, Library Director
Maggie Queeney, Library Coordinator
Simon Czerwinskyj, Cataloging Intern
Amy Lipman, Education & Youth Services Assistant


Elizabeth Burke-Dain, Media and Marketing Director
Elizabeth O’Connell-ThompsonMedia Associate
Amy Christenson, Media Relations Associate
Sheri Flanders, Media Assistant
Hannah Kucharzak, Marketing & Production Assistant

Poetry Magazine

Don Share, Editor
Fred Sasaki, Art Director
Lindsay Garbutt, Associate Editor
Holly Amos, Assistant Editor
Christina Pugh, Consulting Editor
Alexander Knowlton, Designer
Hannah Kucharzak, Marketing & Production Assistant

Programming & Events

Stephen Young, Program Director
Justine Haka, Program Associate

Honorary Trustee

Ruth Lilly

American poetry has no greater friend than Ruth Lilly. Over many years and in many ways, it has been blessed by her personal generosity. In 1985 she endowed the Ruth Lilly Professorship in Poetry at Indiana University.

In 1986 she established the Ruth Lilly Poetry Prize. Awarded annually, the $100,000 prize honors a living US poet whose lifetime accomplishments warrant extraordinary recognition. In 1989 she created two Ruth Lilly Fellowships, for $15,000 each, given annually by the Poetry Foundation to undergraduate or graduate students selected through a national competition. In 2002 her lifetime engagement with poetry culminated in a magnificent bequest that will enable the Poetry Foundation to promote, in perpetuity, a vigorous presence for poetry in our culture.

Poetry Foundation Trustees
  • Willard Bunn, III, Chair
    Henry Bienen, President
    Allan E. Bulley, III, Trustee
    Cecilia A. Conrad, Trustee
    Marian Godfrey, Trustee
    Eugene Y. Lowe, Jr., Trustee
    Kary McIlwain, Trustee
    Stuart J. Miller, Secretary
    Susan Noyes, Trustee
    David Ormesher, Vice Chair
    Scott Turow, Trustee
    Benna Wilde, Vice Chair
    Caren Yanis, Trustee
    Angel Ysaguirre, Trustee

Visit Us

61 West Superior Street
Chicago, IL 60654


11AM – 4PM
Please Note

The building will be closed to the public on Friday, March 30th and Monday, April 2nd. We will reopen with normal hours on Tuesday, April 3rd at 11 AM.