Press List

  • June 17th, 2009
    The Poetry Foundation is pleased to present with the Rush Hour Concert Series a free performance featuring poet Kevin Coval, pianist James Giles, and the music of George Gershwin and Charles Ives. The event marks the fourth year of collaboration between the Poetry Foundation and the Rush Hour Concert Series in presenting programs combining poetry and music.
  • June 4th, 2009
    The Poetry Foundation, American Public Media’s Performance Today, and the White Pine Festival are collaborating on the latest installation of the Poetry Radio Project to present the Miró Quartet, a string ensemble, and poet Matthea Harvey in a multidisciplinary performance of classical music and poetry.
  • May 14th, 2009
    Poetry magazine is pleased to announce that three poems featured recently in its pages have been selected for inclusion in The Pushcart Prize XXXIV: Best of the Small Presses.
  • May 6th, 2009
    Poetry magazine is proud to co-sponsor with the Guild Complex and Letras Latinas a poetry reading by four poets whose work is featured in the anthology The Wind Shifts: New Latino Poetry—Rosa Alcalá, Kevin A. González, Carolina Monsivais, and Lidia Torres.
  • April 29th, 2009

    Backed by a cheering section of his family and friends, 18-year-old William Farley of Arlington, Virginia captivated both judges and audience with his poetry recitations to gain the title of 2009 Poetry Out Loud National Champion, and an award of $20,000.

  • April 20th, 2009

    The Chicago Poetry Tour, a multimedia tour of poetry written in and about the city of Chicago, includes archival and contemporary recordings of poets and scholars, local music, and historic photographs.

  • April 16th, 2009
    The new video podcast series features the nation’s Children’s Poet Laureate, Mary Ann Hoberman, reading from her own work and from classic children’s poetry collections. View episodes
  • April 14th, 2009
    Fanny Howe is the recipient of the 2009 Ruth Lilly Poetry Prize. Established in 1986 and presented annually by the Poetry Foundation to a living U.S. poet whose lifetime accomplishments warrant extraordinary recognition, the Ruth Lilly Prize is one of the most prestigious awards given to American poets, and at $100,000 it is one of the nation’s largest literary prizes. Poet and critic Ange Mlinko is the winner of the Randall Jarrell Award in Poetry Criticism. The prizes will be presented at the Pegasus Awards ceremony at the Arts Club of Chicago on Tuesday, May 19.
  • April 7th, 2009
    American Life in Poetry, the free newspaper column featuring a weeklypoem selected and briefly introduced by former U.S. Poet Laureate TedKooser, runs regularly in over 75 papers, with a circulation of upwards offour million.
  • April 1st, 2009
    The Poetry Foundation is pleased to announce an array of programming during April, including poetry films, the multimedia Chicago Poetry Tour, a recitation contest, readings, and more.

Other Information

  • Browse Poems