Follow Harriet on Twitter

About Harriet


The Trivia of Book Awards

By Ed Park

Thursday night, the Los Angeles Times Book Prize nominees were announced . . . in New York. The poetry finalists are:

• Erin Belieu for Black Box (Copper Canyon Press)
• Adrian C. Louis for Logorrhea (TriQuarterly Books/Northwestern University Press)
• Thom Satterlee for Burning Wyclif (Texas Tech University Press)
• Frederick Seidel for Ooga-Booga (Farrar, Straus and Giroux)
• Michael Waters for Darling Vulgarity (BOA Editions)

Ooga-Booga (also nominated for the National Book Critics Circle Award) makes us ask this trivia question: Name another poetry collection in which the second word differs from the first by only one letter (either one more, one less, or one different).

Comments (3)

  • On March 5, 2007 at 12:27 pm Blanche DooBwah wrote:

    Though it’s not yet published, Sabrina Orah Mark’s next book is titled “Tsim Tsum.” What do I win?

  • On March 5, 2007 at 1:17 pm Evie Shockley wrote:

    Tim Seibles has a hilarious book called *Hurdy-Gurdy* — is that the one you’re thinking of?

  • On March 5, 2007 at 1:50 pm J.S. wrote:

    Here’s the easy answer: MacLeish’s verse play J.B., which won the 1959 Pulitzer Prize for Drama. Blam.

Posted in Uncategorized on Sunday, March 4th, 2007 by Ed Park.