Poetry News

Romulo Baquiran Jr Wins SEA Write Award

By Harriet Staff

We've learned, via a Tweet by the Academy of American Poets, that Filipino poet Romulo Baquiran Jr. has won the SEA Write Award. Here's a bit more from this article:

Filipino poet and Palanca award winner Romulo Baquiran Jr. was awarded the Southeast Asian Writers Award (SEA Write Award) for 2011 last Feb. 16 in Bangkok, the Department of Foreign Affairs announced Monday.

An assistant professor at the University of the Philippines’ College of Arts and Letters, Baquiran was honored along with seven other writers from other ASEAN countries: Mohd Zefri Ariff bin Mohd Zain Ariff (Brunei), D Zawawi Imron (Indonesia), Bounthanong Xomxayphol (Laos), Mohd Zakir Syed bin Syed Othman (Malaysia), Robert Yeo Cheng Chuan (Singapore), Jadet Kamjorndej (Thailand), and Nguyen Chi Trung (Vietnam).

The awarding ceremony was done at the gala dinner celebrating the SEA Write Award’s 33rd year held at the Mandarin Oriental Bangkok. Thai Princess Sirivannavari Nariratana handed out the awards on behalf of her father, the Crown Prince.

Originally Published: March 5th, 2012