Follow Harriet on Twitter

About Harriet


Poetry News

T.S. Eliot Prize Shortlist Announced

By Harriet Staff

From the folks at The Poetry Book Society:

The Poetry Book Society is pleased to announce the shortlist for the 2012 T S Eliot Prize for Poetry.

Judges Carol Ann Duffy (Chair), Michael Longley and David Morley have chosen six collections from the 131 books submitted by publishers, which join the four PBS Choices to make up the ten collections on the shortlist:

Simon Armitage The Death of King Arthur (Faber)
Sean Borodale Bee Journal (Jonathan Cape)
Gillian Clarke Ice (Carcanet)
Julia Copus The World’s Two Smallest Humans (Faber)
Paul Farley The Dark Film (Picador)
Jorie Graham P L A C E (Carcanet)
Kathleen Jamie The Overhaul (Picador)
Sharon Olds Stag’s Leap (Jonathan Cape)
Jacob Polley The Havocs (Picador)
Deryn Rees-Jones Burying the Wren (Seren)


The winner of the 2012 Prize will be announced at the Award Ceremony on Monday 14 January 2013, when the winner will be presented with a cheque for £15,000, donated by Mrs Valerie Eliot, who has generously given the prize money since the inception of the Prize. The shortlisted poets will each receive £1,000.

Full release here.

Posted in Poetry News on Tuesday, October 23rd, 2012 by Harriet Staff.