Follow Harriet on Twitter

About Harriet


Poetry News

Marianne Boruch and Heidy Steidlmayer Take Home Kingsley and Kate Tufts Awards

By Harriet Staff


We’re thrilled to hear that Marianne Boruch has been awarded the $100,000 Kingsley Tufts Poetry Award for 2013, while Heidy Steidlmayer has won the $10,000 Kate Tufts Discovery Award. Announcing the awards, Wendy Martin, director of the Tufts Poetry Awards program and vice provost at Claremont Graduate University, stated: “We are delighted to honor these poets and celebrate their achievements. These awards will help them gain wider recognition and will sustain their continuing commitment to writing outstanding poetry.” More about the award:

The Kingsley Tufts award, now in its 21st year, was established at Claremont Graduate University by Kate Tufts to honor the memory of her husband, who held executive positions in the Los Angeles Shipyards and wrote poetry as his avocation. The award is presented for a work by a poet who is past the very beginning but has not yet reached the pinnacle of his or her career. The Kate Tufts Discovery Award was initiated in 1993 and is presented annually for a first book by a poet of genuine promise.

A ceremony for this year’s winners will be held at Garrison Theater (231 E. 10th Street in Claremont) on Thursday, April 18. Novelist Russell Banks will give special remarks.

Finalists for the 2013 Kingsley Tufts Poetry Award were Edward Haworth Hoeppner for Blood Prism (Ohio State University Press) and Paisley Rekdal for Animal Eye (University of Pittsburgh Press).

Finalists for the 2013 Kate Tufts Discovery Award were Rebecca Morgan Frank for Little Murders Everywhere (Salmon Poetry) and francine j. harris for Allegiance (Wayne State University Press).

Judges were: Linda Gregerson, poet, professor of English language and literature at the University of Michigan, and past Kingsley Tufts Poetry Award recipient; David Barber, poet and poetry editor of the Atlantic Monthly; Kate Gale, poet, novelist, and managing editor of Red Hen Press; Ted Genoways, award-winning poet and journalist; Carl Phillips, poet, professor of English and African and Afro-American studies at Washington University in St. Louis, chancellor of the Academy of American Poets, and past Kingsley Tufts Poetry Award recipient.

Past winners of the Kingsley Tufts Poetry Award include Robert Wrigley, Tom Sleigh, Matthea Harvey, Yusef Komunyakaa, Chase Twichell, and Timothy Donnelly.

Congratulations to the winners and all the finalists.

Tags: , , ,
Posted in Poetry News on Monday, March 4th, 2013 by Harriet Staff.