Poetry News

Poetry Society of America Elects New President: Kimiko Hahn!

By Harriet Staff

Photo by David Shankbone

Kimiko Hahn succeeds Ruth Kaplan, who has served as President of the Poetry Society of America since 2007. More, via PSA:

The Poetry Society of America (PSA) is pleased to announce that Kimiko Hahn, who has served on the PSA's Board of Governors since 2007, has been elected the new President, succeeding, Ruth Kaplan, who held the position since 2007.

Kimiko Hahn is the author of nine books of poems, including: Brain Fever (W.W. Norton, 2014) and Toxic Flora (2010), both collections prompted by science; The Narrow Road to the Interior (2006), a collection that takes its title from Basho's famous poetic journal; The Unbearable Heart (Kaya, 1996), which received an American Book Award; and Earshot (Hanging Loose Press, 1992), which was awarded the Theodore Roethke Memorial Poetry Prize and an Association of Asian American Studies Literature Award. As part of her service to the City University of New York community, she helped to initiate a Chapbook Festival that has become an annual event co-sponsored by major literary organizations, including the Poetry Society of America. Her numerous honors include a Guggenheim Fellowship, the PEN/Voelcker Award, the Shelley Memorial Prize from the Poetry Society of America, and a Lila Wallace-Reader's Digest Writers' Award as well as fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts. She has taught at the University of Houston and New York University, and is a distinguished professor in the MFA Program in Creative Writing & Literary Translation at Queens College, The City University of New York. She has also taught for literary organizations such as the Fine Arts Work Center, Cave Canem, and Kundiman. Hahn lives in New York with her husband, the true crime writer Harold Schechter, and their terrier, Trudy.

Learn more about Hahn, and read her statement about working with the organization at PSA. Congratulations!

Originally Published: March 23rd, 2016