Poetry News

Ron Padgett Awarded Poetry Society of America's 2018 Frost Medal

By Harriet Staff
Ron Padgett

The Poetry Society of America announced today that Ron Padgett has been awarded the organization's highest award offered annually, the 2018 Frost Medal, intended to distinguish lifetime achievement in poetry. Previous winners of this award include Wallace Stevens, Marianne Moore, Gwendolyn Brooks, Allen Ginsberg, Adrienne Rich, Barbara Guest, Lucille Clifton, Michael S. Harper, Marilyn Nelson, and Susan Howe, says PSA.

Ron Padgett was born in 1942 in Tulsa, Oklahoma. He is the author of over two dozen books including his Collected Poems (Coffee House Press, 2013), which received the L. A. Times Book Prize and the Poetry Society of America's William Carlos Williams Prize, selected by Thomas Lux. He has published numerous volumes of translations including work by Guillaume Apollinaire, Blaise Cendrars, and Pierre Reverdy. In addition he has published Ted: A Personal Memoir of Ted Berrigan and Joe: A Memoir of Joe Brainard. His many honors include a Guggenheim Fellowship, the American Academy of Arts and Letters poetry award, the Shelley Memorial Award, and grants from the National Endowment for the Arts. Padgett's How Long was a 2012 Pulitzer Prize finalist in poetry. He has also been a teacher, director of the Poetry Project at St. Mark's Church, and publications director of Teachers & Writers Collaborative.

The 2018 Annual Awards ceremony, which will honor Ron Padgett and celebrate the winners of the Poetry Society of America's 11 other annual awards will take place on April 10th, 2018 at The National Arts Club in New York City.

Congratulations to Ron Padgett!

Originally Published: January 17th, 2018