1. Home
  2. Programs & Initiatives
  3. Foundation Events
  4. The Book Fort

The Book Fort

Friday, July 13th – Friday, July 13th, 4:00 PM–8:00 PM
Saturday, July 14th – Saturday, July 14th, 12:00 PM–8:00 PM
Sunday, July 15th – Sunday, July 15th, 12:00 PM–8:00 PM

Pitchfork Music Festival
Union Park
Chicago, IL
Festival pass required

The Book Fort is built on the strength of innovative indie presses and focused on today's exciting new writing, or the literary equivalent of what’s happening at the Pitchfork Music Festival's three music stages. Browse tables and bookshelves and speak directly to publishers and editors. Presses featured at this year's Book Fort include: Featherproof Books, McSweeney's, Drag City Books, Write Bloody, MAKE Magazine, Publishing Genius, Poetry, Green Lantern Press/The Paper Cave, and the 33.3 music book series from Continuum. The Book Fort is located near the Flatstock poster fair. Visit us for a free newspaper hat printed with literature—while supplies last!

Reading schedule:

Friday, July 13, 5:00PM: Poetry magazine presents Ilya Kaminsky and Tim Kinsella

Saturday, July 14, 4:00PM: Indie Press Showcase: Marvin Tate (MAKE Magazine), Robbie Q. Telfer (Write Bloody), Adam Robinson (Publishing Genius), and Sierra De Mulder (Write Bloody)

Saturday, July 14, 7:00PM: Indie Press Showcase: Adam Levin (McSweeney's), Lindsay Hunter (featherproof), Anne Elizabeth Moore (Green Lantern Press), and Patrick Somerville (featherproof)

Sunday, July 15, 4:00PM: Music Writer Showcase: J Niimi, Jessica Hopper, Kaitlin Fontana, Kate Silver, and Marc Masters 

Sunday, July 15, 6:00PM, Music Writer Showcase: Nitsuh Abebe, Dave Hofer, Blanca Méndez, Matt LeMay, and Cynthia Plaster Caster

Other Information

  • Browse Poems

  • Current Exhibition
    Sep 23, 2016 – Dec 16, 2016

    A group exhibition featuring work by Poetry magazine cover artists depicting the mythical creatures Pegasus and mermaids from poetry immemorial. Artists include Lise Haller Baggesen, Ana Benaroya, Lilli Carré, Alexander Cohen, Stephen Eichhorn, Carson Ellis, Clay Hickson, Tony Fitzpatrick, Krista Franklin, Julia Goodman, Jenny Kendler, Kate McQuillen, Jessie Mott, Julie Murphy, Diana Sudyka, and Shoshanna Weinberger.