1. Home
  2. Programs & Initiatives
  3. Foundation Events
  4. The Open Door: Kathleen Rooney and John Wilkinson

The Open Door: Kathleen Rooney and John Wilkinson

Tuesday, January 21st, 7:00 PM

Poetry Foundation
61 West Superior Street
Free Admission

The Open Door series presents work from Chicago’s new and emerging poets and highlights the area’s outstanding writing programs. Each hour-long reading features two Chicagoland college and graduate writing program instructors and two of their current or recent students.

Kathleen Rooney is a founding editor of Rose Metal Press. She is the author of the essay collection For You, For You I Am Trilling These Songs (Counterpoint, 2010) and the poetry collection Robinson Alone (Gold Wake Press, 2012).

John Wilkinson is a British poet who chairs the Committee on Creative Writing at the University of Chicago and also teaches in the department of English. He entered academic life in 2005 after a career in mental health services in the UK, recently in the East End of London. The most recent of his many books is Reckitt's Blue (Seagull Books) and in 2014 Salt will publish his selected poems, Schedule of Unrest.

Mark Magoon writes poetry and short fiction. He lives in Chicago with his wife and two dogs, and tutors and teaches writing at the City Colleges.

Gwen Muren is a fourth-year English Language and Literature major at the University of Chicago. Her first chapbook of poetry, Glitch, is forthcoming from Crater Press in January 2014.

Event Newsletter Sign-up


Thank you! Watch your inbox for event listings from Poetry Foundation.

Other Information

  • Browse Poems

  • Current Exhibition
    Sep 23, 2016 – Dec 16, 2016

    A group exhibition featuring work by Poetry magazine cover artists depicting the mythical creatures Pegasus and mermaids from poetry immemorial. Artists include Lise Haller Baggesen, Ana Benaroya, Lilli Carré, Alexander Cohen, Stephen Eichhorn, Carson Ellis, Clay Hickson, Tony Fitzpatrick, Krista Franklin, Julia Goodman, Jenny Kendler, Kate McQuillen, Jessie Mott, Julie Murphy, Diana Sudyka, and Shoshanna Weinberger.