Skip to Content

The Poetry Foundation, publisher of Poetry magazine, is pleased to announce the 2018 Pegasus Award For Poetry Criticism. This prize seeks to honor the best book-length works of criticism published in the US in the prior calendar year, including biographies, essay collections, and critical editions that consider the subject of poetry or poets.

For more information about submitting to the Award for Poetry Criticism, please click on this link.

Submission Guidelines

  • Publishers and literary agents are invited to submit books for consideration.
  • We ask for two hard copies and one PDF (if available) of each book submitted for consideration.
  • Hard copies should be mailed to:
    Poetry Foundation
    Submissions: Pegasus Award for Poetry Criticism
    61 West Superior Street
    Chicago, IL 60654
  • PDF should be sent via Submittable.
  • Self-published books are not eligible.
  • There is no charge to submit for this contest.
  • The winner and finalists will be required to provide tax identification information before the award can be made.
  • Submissions will be accepted from February 2, 2018 to March 2, 2018. The winner will be notified by April 30, 2018 and publicly announced at the Pegasus Awards ceremony.

We ask that the winner be available to travel to Chicago and participate in the Pegasus Awards ceremony on Monday, June 11, 2018.

2016 Award Recipients

Winner: University of California Press

The Poems of T.S. Eliot edited by Christopher Ricks and Jim McCue. Johns Hopkins University Press, 2015.

This critical edition of T. S. Eliot’s Poems establishes a new text of the Collected Poems 1909–1962, rectifying accidental omissions and errors that have crept in during the century since Eliot’s astonishing debut, “The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock." As well as the masterpieces, the edition contains the poems of Eliot’s youth, which were rediscovered only decades later, others that circulated privately during his lifetime, and love poems from his final years, written for his wife Valerie Eliot.

Christopher Ricks and Jim McCue have provided a commentary that illuminates the imaginative life of each poem. Calling upon Eliot’s critical writings, as well as his drafts, letters, and other original materials, they illustrate not only the breadth of Eliot’s interests and the range of his writings, but how it was that the author of "Gerontion" came to write "Triumphal March" and then Four Quartets. Thanks to the family and friends who recognized Eliot’s genius and preserved his writings from an early age, the archival record is exceptionally complete, enabling us to follow in unique detail the progress of a mind that never ceased exploring.

Poetry editor Don Share praises the volumes: “The authoritative and remarkable editing of the poems of T.S. Eliot by Christopher Ricks and Jim McCue is unprecedented; their work illuminates every one of Eliot’s poems in ways unimaginable until now. This work will remain invaluable to readers and students of poetry for many generations.”