Michael Dickman wins Laughlin Award

By Harriet Staff

from Poets.org:

The Academy of American Poets announced today that Michael Dickman's collection Flies (Copper Canyon Press) was chosen by poets Laure-Anne Bosselaar, Major Jackson, and Michael Ryan to receive the 2010 James Laughlin Award, which gives $5,000 to the most outstanding second book by an American poet in the previous year. The award will be presented at the Academy's Awards Ceremony on October 29, as part of the fourth annual Poets Forum in New York City.

Dana Levin's review of End of the West, Dickman's first book, can be found here.

Originally Published: August 25th, 2010