Poetry News

Gerald Stern Awarded 2014 Frost Medal

By Harriet Staff

Photo: Martin Desht

Yesterday the Poetry Society of America announced that Gerald Stern is the recipient of the 2014 Frost Medal. From the PSA website:

The Poetry Society of America is honored to announce that Gerald Stern is the 2014 recipient of the organization's highest award, the Frost Medal, presented annually for distinguished lifetime achievement in poetry. Previous winners of this award include Wallace Stevens, Marianne Moore, Gwendolyn Brooks, Allen Ginsberg, Lucille Clifton, Charles Simic, Marilyn Nelson, and Robert Bly, who was the 2013 recipient.


The 2014 Annual Awards ceremony, which will honor Gerald Stern and celebrate the winners of the Poetry Society of America's 10 other annual awards, will take place on Wednesday, April 9th at 7:00 pm at the National Arts Club.

Congrats, Gerald Stern! Head over to the PSA to read more about Stern and a poem from his 2012 collection In Beauty Bright.