Poetry News

National Book Critics Circle Announces Finalists for 2013

By Harriet Staff

Photo Frank Bidart by Lawrence Schwartzwald.

Today, the National Book Critics Circle announced its finalists for the publishing year of 2013. In six categories—autobiography, biography, criticism, fiction, nonfiction, and poetry—30 titles are up for the best books of 2013. "The winners of an additional three prizes were announced as well. The National Book Critics Circle Awards, founded in 1974 at the Algonquin Hotel and considered among the most prestigious in American letters, are the sole prizes bestowed by a jury of working critics and book-review editors." In our beloved Poetry cat:

Frank Bidart, Metaphysical Dog (Farrar, Straus & Giroux)

Lucie Brock-Broido, Stay, Illusion (Knopf)

Denise Duhamel, Blowout (University of Pittsburgh Press)

Bob Hicok, Elegy Owed (Copper Canyon)

Carmen Gimenez Smith, Milk and Filth (University of Arizona Press)

Congrats to all! Keep your eyes on the prize(s), which will be presented on March 13 at the New School in NYC, in a ceremony that is free and open to the public.

Originally Published: January 13th, 2014