Poetry News

National Book Awards Longlist for Poetry Announced

By Harriet Staff

Screen Shot 2016-09-13 at 11.15.43 AM

Today, the New Yorker takes a look at the longlist in the poetry category for the National Book Awards. The list is a mix of established poets and emerging poets, with Donika Kelly and Solmaz Sharif's first books appearing in 2016. Now for that list:

Daniel Borzutzky, The Performance of Becoming Human (Brooklyn Arts Press)

Rita Dove, Collected Poems 1974 – 2004 (W. W. Norton & Company)

Peter Gizzi, Archeophonics (Wesleyan University Press)

Donald Hall, The Selected Poems of Donald Hall (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)

Jay Hopler, The Abridged History of Rainfall (McSweeney’s)

Donika Kelly, Bestiary (Graywolf Press)

Jane Mead, World of Made and Unmade (Alice James Books)

Solmaz Sharif, Look (Graywolf Press)

Monica Youn, Blackacre (Graywolf Press)

Kevin Young, Blue Laws (Alfred A. Knopf)

The New Yorker reminds us of the judges for this year's award:

The judges in this year’s Poetry category are Mark Bibbins, who has published three collections of poetry and edits the poetry section of The Awl; Jericho Brown, whose second collection, “The New Testament,” won the Thom Gunn Award; Katie Ford, whose fourth book will be published by Graywolf Press next year; Joy Harjo, the author of numerous books and a recipient of the Wallace Stevens Award; and Tree Swenson, who has been the executive director of Hugo House since 2012.