Poetry News

Milkweed Editions to Publish Second Collection by Max Ritvo (1990–2016)

By Harriet Staff
Black and white image of Max Ritvo

Milkweed Editions announced today that the press will publish Max Ritvo's second collection of poems, The Final Voicemails, which will join Letters from Max, co-authored by Ritvo and Sarah Ruhl, on the roster. Milkweed has been working to preserve the late poet's legacy since his death by Ewing's sarcoma a little over a year ago, even creating the $10,000 Max Ritvo Poetry Prize. Of the new collection, the editors write:

Including many previously unpublished poems, The Final Voicemails is a collection of early and late poems combining Max’s distinctive emotional intensity with the linguistic brilliance and rich allusiveness that marked Four ReincarnationsThe Final Voicemails is edited and introduced by Louise Glück and will be released in 2018.


We are profoundly grateful to the vast community of poets, journals, friends, and family who continue to keep the spirit of Max's life and work so fiercely present. As Max writes repeatedly in the acknowledgments of Four Reincarnations, "Without you, there is no Max."

Read more about the news at Milkweed.

Originally Published: September 21st, 2017