Poetry News

The Academy of American Poets Appoints Chancellors Chin, Dawes, Howe

By Harriet Staff
Academy of American Poets, logo

We'd like to welcome the latest Chancellors to the Academy of American Poets: Marilyn Chin, Kwame Dawes, and Marie Howe. All excellent choices, we think! A little from yesterday's press released regarding the appointments:

The Academy of American Poets is pleased to announce that Marilyn Chin, Kwame Dawes, and Marie Howe have been named its newest Chancellors, an honorary position that has been held by some of the most distinguished poets in the United States, including W. H. Auden, John Ashbery, Elizabeth Bishop, Lucille Clifton, Yusef Komunyakaa, Adrienne Rich, and Mark Strand.
As new members of the Board of Chancellors, Chin, Dawes, and Howe will consult with the organization on matters of artistic programming, serve as judges for the organization’s largest prizes for poets, and act as ambassadors of poetry in the world at large. The new Chancellors were selected by the current members—Elizabeth Alexander, Ellen Bass, Forrest Gander, Linda Gregerson, Terrance Hayes, Brenda Hillman, Khaled Mattawa, Marilyn Nelson, Alicia Ostriker, Claudia Rankine, Alberto Ríos, and David St. John—and will be filling the seats vacated by Toi Derricotte, Jane Hirshfield, and Arthur Sze, whose terms have concluded. Each Chancellor serves for a period of six years.

Head over to Poets.org to read more about each new Chancellor. Congrats to all!

Originally Published: January 4th, 2018