Audio

The Late Great John Ashbery

September 12, 2017

Ashbery's poems can be a new way of seeing and experiencing things, a "daydream from which there's no obvious exit," an ode to neglected emotions or the insignificant, an inside joke you may or may not be in on, and a reordering of the world and ourselves.

More Episodes from Poetry Off the Shelf
Showing 1 to 20 of 370 Podcasts
  1. Tuesday, October 10, 2017

    From Sickness into Poetry

  2. Tuesday, September 26, 2017

    Who Reads Poetry

  3. Tuesday, August 29, 2017

    Teaching Poetry in Times Like These

  4. Tuesday, August 15, 2017

    “It's the Language, Stupid.”

  5. Tuesday, August 1, 2017

    If They Should Come for Us

  6. Wednesday, July 5, 2017

    50 Years of The Lice

  7. Tuesday, June 20, 2017

    The New Young People's Poet Laureate

  8. Tuesday, June 6, 2017

    The Poetry and Music of Joy Harjo

    Poets
  9. Tuesday, May 16, 2017

    The Radical Perception of Larry Eigner

  10. Tuesday, May 2, 2017

    The Pulse of American Poetry

  11. Tuesday, April 18, 2017

    The Poetry of Everyday Life

  12. Wednesday, March 22, 2017

    The Achievements of Derek Walcott

  13. Tuesday, March 7, 2017

    Lowell as Teacher

  14. Tuesday, February 21, 2017

    Walt Whitman's Divided America

  15. Wednesday, February 8, 2017

    Is your sweetheart edible?

  16. Tuesday, January 24, 2017

    Poetry Stars in a Movie

    Poets
  17. Tuesday, December 20, 2016

    The Poets We Lost in 2016

    1. 1
    2. 2
    3. 3
    4. 4
    5. 5
    6. 6
  1. Next Page