Audio

Yoko Ono reads “Mother Earth”

July 2, 2018

Don Share: This is The Poetry Magazine Podcast for the week of July 2nd, 2018. I’m Don Share, editor of Poetry Magazine.

 

Christina Pugh: I’m Christina Pugh, consulting editor for the magazine.

 

Lindsay Garbutt: And I’m Lindsay Garbutt, associate editor for the magazine. On The Poetry Magazine Podcast, we listen to a poem or two in the current issue.

 

Yoko Ono: Mother Earth

 

The sky is high

We shit on earth

We look up the sky

The earth gives birth

To our future

 

Don Share: That’s Yoko Ono, who’s poem “Mother Earth” is in the Poetry Magazine for the July issue. We asked her if she would read the poem for the podcast, and this is recording she sent us. Let’s hear it again.

 

Yoko Ono: The sky is high

We shit on earth

We look up the sky

The earth gives birth

To our future

 

Don Share: You can read “Mother Earth” by Yoko Ono in the July/August issue of Poetry Magazine, or online at poetrymagazine.org

 

Lindsay Garbutt: We’ll have another episode for you next week, or you can get all the July and August episodes all at once on the full length episode on Soundcloud.

 

Christina Pugh: Let us know what you thought of this program. Email us at podcast@poetryfoundation.org, write a review in the iTunes store, and please link to the podcast on social media.

 

Don Share: The Poetry Magazine Podcast is recorded by Ed Herman and produced by Curtis Fox and Catherine Fenelosa.

 

Lindsay Garbutt: The theme music for this poem comes from the Claudia Quintet. I’m Lindsay Garbutt.

 

Christina Pugh: I’m Christina Pugh.

 

Don Share: And I’m Don Share. Thanks for listening.

 

In this brief podcast, we listen to Yoko Ono read “Mother Earth” from the July/August 2018 issue of Poetry.

Appeared in Poetry Magazine This Appears In
More Episodes from The Poetry Magazine Podcast
Showing 1 to 20 of 209 Podcasts
  1. Monday, November 12, 2018
    Poets
  2. Monday, November 5, 2018

    Frank Sherlock reads “The Next Last One”

  3. Monday, October 29, 2018

    Max Ritvo reads “Dawn of Man”

    Poets
  4. Monday, October 22, 2018

    Jericho Brown reads “The Card Tables”

  5. Monday, October 15, 2018
  6. Monday, October 8, 2018

    Ari Banias reads “Fountain”

    Poets
  7. Monday, October 1, 2018
  8. Monday, September 24, 2018
  9. Monday, September 17, 2018

    Ange Mlinko reads “Don Giovanni”

    Poets
  10. Monday, September 10, 2018
    Poets
  11. Monday, September 3, 2018
    Poets
  12. Monday, August 27, 2018
    Poets
  13. Monday, August 20, 2018
  14. Monday, August 13, 2018

    Carolyn Forché reads “Mourning”

  15. Wednesday, August 8, 2018
  16. Monday, July 30, 2018

    Victoria Chang reads “Obit”

  17. Monday, July 23, 2018
    Poets
  18. Monday, July 16, 2018

    Lynn Melnick reads “Twelve”

    Poets
  19. Monday, July 9, 2018

    Safia Elhillo reads “yasmeen”

  20. Monday, June 25, 2018

    Jennifer Elise Foerster reads from "Coosa"

    1. 1
    2. 2
    3. 3
    4. 4
    5. 5
    6. 6
  1. Next Page