Audio

Sissieretta Jones

November 13, 2017

Tyehimba Jess pays tribute to Sissieretta Jones, the first African-American to perform at Carnegie Hall in 1892. Produced by Colin McNulty.

More Episodes from PoetryNow
Showing 1 to 20 of 150 Podcasts
  1. Monday, December 10, 2018

    I Make Promises Before I Dream 

  2. Monday, December 3, 2018

    For Charlie

  3. Monday, November 26, 2018

    Fault Whispers

    Poets
  4. Monday, November 19, 2018

    A Feeling Right Before the Feeling

  5. Monday, November 12, 2018

    Discipline Park

    Poets
  6. Monday, November 5, 2018

    Creation Myth

    Poets
  7. Monday, October 29, 2018

    mom and dad in a photo

  8. Monday, October 22, 2018

    Love Calls Us

    Poets
  9. Monday, October 15, 2018

    Phantom

    Poets
  10. Monday, October 8, 2018

    I'm Stepping Up in Singing Sandals, No Use For

  11. Monday, October 1, 2018

    Terra Pericolosa

    Poets
  12. Monday, September 24, 2018
  13. Monday, September 17, 2018

    Where Do You Come From?

  14. Monday, September 10, 2018

    Poem

  15. Monday, September 3, 2018

    Andererway

  16. Monday, August 27, 2018

    Late Melt

  17. Monday, August 20, 2018

    Maine Coast

  18. Monday, August 13, 2018

    Company

    Poets
  19. Tuesday, August 7, 2018

    Ash Weed

  20. Monday, July 30, 2018

    Know No Name

    Poets